Yari, Akume, 4 others withdraw from APC chairmanship race, back Abdullahi


Senator Abdul’aziz Yari from Zamfara and other six top contenders for the position of National Chairman, All Progressive Congress (APC) have withdraw from running for the seat ahead of the APC:’s Saturday convention.

This was contained in a letter dated 25th March 2022, forwarded to the Chairman, APC Election sub-committee and signed by Senator George Akume.

The listed contenders are Senator Abdul’azizi Yari, Senator Tanko Al-Makura, Senator George Akume, Senator Sani Musa Muhammad, Etsu Muhammad and Turaki Salifu Mustapha.

The letter also noted they withdraw from the contest to refer “to the appeal by Mr. President for the Chairmanship aspiration” to agree to a concensus where Senator Abdullahi Adamu is made the consensus candidate.