Tinubu clinches APC presidential ticket


National leader of th All Progressive Congress (APC) and former Lagos State Governor, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, has emerged as the presidential candidate of the APC.

In a contested election between Tuesday and Wednesday, Tinubu defeated 14 other candidates in the presidential primary held at Eagle Square, Abuja.

2,322 delegates from the 774 local government Areas of the country were accredited at the election Tinubu polled over 1271 votes while his closest challenger, former Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amechi came second with 316 votes.

Vice President, Yemi Osibanjo scored 235 votes to come a distant third while Nigeria’s Senate President, Ahmed Lawal, came fourth with 152 votes.

The only female in the race, Uju Ohanenye, had stepped down from the presidential race and declared his support for Bola Tinubu.

A former Zamafara State Governor, Ahmed Sani Yarima, scored 4 votes while Kogi State governor, Yahaya Bello, scored 47 votes, and Cross Rivers Governor, Ben Ayade scored 37 votes.

The other contestants – including former Governor Rochas Okorocha, Pastor Tunde Bakare, Tein Jack Rich, and Ikeobasi Mokelu, – got zero votes.

13 invalid votes were recorded.