UAE lifts flight restrictions on Nigeria


The United Arab Emirates (UAE) authorities have said restriction on flights arriving from Nigeria and 11 other African nations will be lifted on Saturday.

The country’s National Emergency Crisis and Disaster Management Authority said it was lifting the ban initially imposed as part of measures to prevent the spread of the Omicron variant of COVID-19.

The authorities in a post on Twitter yesterday said flight arrivals can resume from countries like Botswana, Congo Republic, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Kenya, Lesotho, Mozambique, and Namibia.

Others are Nigeria, South Africa, Tanzania and Zimbabwe.

The United Arab Emirates had last December issued a travel restriction on passenger flights from Nigeria, Kenya, Tanzania, and Ethiopia. The authorities said the directive, which took effect December 25, was due to concerns related to the spread of the omicron COVID-19 variant.