UK removes all African countries from the red list


The United Kingdom has removed all 11 African countries from its red list.

Only British or Irish nationals or those with residency in the United Kingdom could re-enter the country.

The restrictions were first imposed last month in order to slow the spread of the Omicron variant of Covid-19.

Some critics had described the measure as racist as only African nations appeared on the red list.

Initially they were all in southern Africa, including South Africa and Botswana, where Omicron was first identified, but Nigeria was later added.

The 11 countries affected are; Angola, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Zambia and Zimbabwe.