APC Congress: Kano Senators, 4 Reps move to take over APC from Ganduje


The entire three Kano senators — Kabiru Gaya (APC-Kano South), Ibrahim Shekarau (APC-Kano Central) and Barau Jibrin (APC-Kano North) — have teamed up with some members of the House of Representatives to take control of the ruling party in the state in the forthcoming congress.

The members, led by the chairman House Committee on Security, Sha’aban Sharada (APC-Kano Municipal), are Tijjani Jobe (APC-Dawakin Tofa/Tofa/Rimingado); Haruna Dederi (APC-Karaye/Rogo) and; Nasiru Auduwa (APC-Gabasawa/Gezawa).

The three senators and four members met at on Tuesday at the Asokoro residence of Mr Shekarau.

Insiders said the meeting borders on how the governor, Abdullahi Ganduje, cornered state resources and party affairs for himself and his family.

According to the source, the parliamentarians also strategized on how to take the control of the party in the state in the forthcoming congress.

DAILY NIGERIAN learned that the second meeting would be held again today at the same venue.

Sources told DAILY NIGERIAN that during the ward and local government congresses, the three senators were edged out of the political equation as they were either denied or given insignificant stake in the formation of the party structures at the grassroots.

This newspaper learnt that Mr Ganduje is currently facing tough political battles, with the party leadership at the national level showing inclination towards a parallel ward and local government congresses conducted by a faction of the party.

There is also insinuations that Mr Ganduje’s political arch-enemy and former governor of the state, Rabiu Kwankwaso, may join the party.